8 – The Skeleton Twins (2014)

8 - THE SKELETON TWINS - 2014

8 – The Skeleton Twins (2014) | ★★½

Director:  Craig Johnson; Screenwriter: Craig Johnson, Mark Heyman

Plot:  Twins Milo (Bill Hader) and Maggie (Kristen Wiig) have been estranged for 10 years. A tragic event brought them back together where they begin to see why they need each other in their lives again.

I commend the makers of the trailer of this movie. It has this urgency that I must watch this right now. But after several minutes of watching, damn what a letdown! Felt it was trying too hard to be depressing but failed tremendously. It wanted to portray thirtysomethings who still haven’t figured it out and lamented about it and it poked around them being so narcissistic but it ultimately failed. It just was not good. It felt lousy at some points. I don’t know if I’m being too critical about this simple story. I just know that it did not connect with me.

“Look how much I have left… Maggie, I know the dog dies. Everyone knows the dog dies. It’s the book where the dog dies.”

–  Milo

Runtime: 1hr 33min (IMDb)

Cast: Kristen Wiig, Bill Hader

Leave a Reply

