58 – La Piel Que Habito (The Skin I Live In, 2011)

My Rating: 8/10


Synopsis:  A plastic surgeon has made a breakthrough in making the ‘invincible’ skin able to withstand almost any damage. The synthetic skin belongs to a mysterious and locked up patient of his that goes by the name of Vera. Vera is the plastic surgeon’s obsession and Vera holds a lurking secret that can consume them both.

WTF WTF WTF WTF WTF WTFFFFFFFF WTFFFFFF WTFFFFFFF

No one I think can be ready for the twist in this dark tale of revenge.  I can handle the Xenotransplantation part. I think it actually hit jackpot when it tackled  Xenotransplantation. That’s why I liked it a lot at the beginning. Whenever there’s a movie that talks science, (think Gattaca and Contagion) add small touches of eccentricities, it’s already guaranteed to be a knockout movie for me. The soft-yet-so-fragile-it-borders-on-being-frightful skin, the WTF blowtorch scene, I could not get enough of it. I miss the lab apparatus shown here – the fancy centrifuge, petri plates, even the incubator. I love Science what can I say. These things pulled me in watching it. I wasn’t prepared though for the big blow the movie had in its arsenal.

<SPOILERS>

I guess the ramifications of being raped varies from one to another. I don’t think the man who was high on doing the deed with Norma is solely accountable for what had happened. He thought that Norma was into it, I mean any normal sane person would, she didn’t seem to mind about it at first but had a complete 180 degree turn after several minutes like a complete personality shift had happened. Nobody attacked her and forced her, sure the guy forced her after she started to scream, but I don’t think the blame solely belongs to him, I think both of them share the blame, or at least Norma’s father is just as accountable for not being very vigilant in watching his daughter knowing that she  is highly unstable during the party.

For a doctor seemed deep in the trenches of revenge, he sure seemed sloppy. But this revenge tale goes right along with the best revenge tales I have watched – together with the revenge trilogy of Chan-wook Park. The story is one of a kind. But this is a movie, and I rate movies not only on its storyline. Sure the twist was just beyond my imagination, but Norma sucks, and I just can’t buy her craziness. Her volatility was not really developed well and the actress sucks as well. There are plot holes regarding Vera and Dr. Robert here and there that I can’t let pass too and I can’t detail what are those for it will spoil the movie. One more thing, I think being immune to mosquito bites can only last for so long. Even mosquitoes evolve and when they do, the strains of disease they will carry will be more lethal to the ones not possessing the ‘invincible’ skin, and possibly can make the ‘invincible’ skin be just as vulnerable. Yet in my doubts, a sensation is triggered, that hopeful sensation that asks, what if?

__________________________________________________________________________________

Runtime: 1hr 57min (IMDb)

SO MANY FACTORS SHOULD BE ACCOUNTED FOR IN REPORTING GROSSES IN BOX OFFICE LIKE IF IT’S A WIDE RELEASE OR ONLY FOR A LIMITED RUN, MERE SHOWING OF NUMBERS DOES NOT DETAIL ANYTHING. IN FACT, IT MAY OBSCURE ONE’S VIEW OF THE FILM. IT’S BECAUSE NOT ALL ARE CREATED TO FUNCTION AS CASH COW FRANCHISES, SOME ARE DONE FOR ARTISTIC EXPRESSION AND OTHER PURPOSES. SO NO PRODUCTION BUDGET AND GROSSES REPORT WILL BE FEATURED HERE
__________________________________________________________________________________
Leave a Reply

